?!XQuestions and feedback
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Questions and feedback
Enter the characters shown in the image.

Local Government

The Dobele municipality is administered by the local government, which by means of elected representatives - the Council, and the institutions formed by the Council, ensure the executing of the functions and tasks provided by law, as well as voluntary initiatives in accordance with the interests of the state and the citizens of the respective administrative territory.

The Dobele Municipal Council consists of 17 members. Council members are elected for four years. Last elections took place on June 3, 2017. At present three political parties are represented in the Council.

The Council itself from among the Council members elects Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the Council. Already for the third period (since 2009), the Chairman of the Dobele Municipality Council is Andrejs Spridzāns (represents The Green and the Farmers Union). Since June 2013, the Deputy Chairman is Guntis Safranovičs (The Green and the Farmers Union).

The Council members work in four committees: Finance and Budgetary Committee; Economy and Development Committee; Committee for Education, Culture and Sports, and Social Committee.

The functions delegated to the local government and the decisions made by the Municipal Council are executed by the Administration of the Dobele municipality (Executive Director Agris Vilks) and other municipal institutions like the Social Service, the Culture and Sports Department, the Education Department, the Municipal Police, the Orphan's Court and the Adult Education and Business Support Centre.

The local government holds 100% shares in six companies, which according to the functions delegated to local municipalities, provide different services to the citizens of the municipality, including heating, water supply and sanitation, cleaning of the municipal area, health services, transport services, facilities management, etc.